Show as: Mobile

COVID-19: We're working hard to support you and your learning during this challenging time. Learn more here

  • = Beginner level
  • = Intermediate level
  • = Advanced level
Displaying 1-14 of 14 results

What is ISC(2)?

Founded in 1989, (ISC)2 is a leading information security organization that provides training, education and certifications for IT security professionals and companies. A non-profit organization, (ISC)2 boasts almost 140,000 members worldwide.

(ISC)2 offers a comprehensive range of qualifications that includes six different certifications in information security, healthcare security and risk management. Most certifications however are aimed at experienced security professionals with advanced or expert skills in their area of focus.

(ISC)2 Certifications - What is information security?

Information security, also known as InfoSec, is the processes and tools designed and deployed to protect sensitive information from potentially harmful external influences.

Here are some examples of the areas infosec covers:

  • Application security
  • Cloud security
  • Cryptography
  • Infrastructure security
  • Incident response
  • Vulnerability management

Who are (ISC)2 certifications suited to?

The majority of (ISC)2 certifications are applicable to experienced security practitioners, managers and executives interested in proving their expertise across a wide array of security practices and principles, including those in the following positions:

  • Chief Information Security Officer
  • Chief Information Officer
  • Director of Security
  • IT Director/Manager
  • Security Systems Engineer
  • Security Analyst
  • Security Manager
  • Security Auditor
  • Security Architect
  • Security Consultant
  • Network Architect
  • Security Software Developers

Attaining (ISC)2 certifications

Earning and maintaining (ISC)2 certifications involves a lot of work. In addition to passing an exam, candidates are often required to meet work experience prerequisites, agree to the (ISC)2 Code of Ethics, submit applications and references, and pay an annual membership fee.

For most (ISC)2 certifications, eligibility for the examination involves having a minimum of five years cumulative, paid, full-time work experience in information technology on your resume. Three of these years must be in information security and one year in one or more of the six domains of the (ISC)2 CBK (Common Body of Knowledge).

Credentials are valid for three years, and candidates must earn continuing professional education credits (CPEs) to maintain their (ISC)2 certification credentials.

Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

One of the most advanced and prestigious (ISC)2 certifications to obtain is the CISSP certification. CISSP is aimed towards experienced security professionals with skills of the highest level in designing, architecting, implementing, controlling and maintaining cybersecurity solutions and programs. CISSPs are typically managers, auditors, analysts, system engineers, CISOs and architects.

The CISSP is the only (ISC)2 certification that offers additional concentrations beyond the base credential. Currently, there are three specializations:

  • Information Systems Security Engineering Professional (CISSP–ISSEP)
  • Information Systems Security Management Professional (CISSP–ISSMP)
  • Information Systems Security Architecture Professional (CISSP–ISSAP)

Certified Cloud Security Practitioner (CCSP)

Another popular ISC(2) qualifications is the Certified Cloud Security Practitioner (CCSP). Candidates for the Certified Cloud Security Practitioner (CCSP) will possess a deep technical knowledge of infosec and have plenty of hands-on experience with cloud security architecture, design, operations and service orchestration. CCSP is ideal for IT and information security leaders responsible for their organization's cloud security architecture, design, operations and servicing. 

Certified Secure Software Lifecycle Professional (CSSLP) 

The Certified Secure Software Lifecycle Professional (CSSLP) certification recognizes those with leading application security skills. Successful delegates will highlight to  employers and peers that they have the advanced technical skills and knowledge necessary to authenticate, authorize and audit throughout the SDLC using best practices, policies and procedures as outlined by the experts at (ISC)2.

Healthcare Information Security (HCISPP)

Healthcare Information Security (HCISPP) is the sole ISC(2) certification that combines cybersecurity skills with privacy best practices and techniques. HCISSP demonstrates that you have gained the knowledge and ability to implement, manage and assess security and privacy controls to specifically protect systems at healthcare organizations.

Related IT Training Courses

Didn't find the course you need under (ISC)2 certifications? Check out these similar tech-related categories below. If you still need help fill out our free quote request form:

Is COVID-19 impacting your learning?

We are committed to doing everything we can to help you keep learning in the coming months.

Can you spare four minutes to fill out our survey and let us know how we can best keep helping you?

Take the survey!

Compare courses

Need help with your search? offers a free consultancy service to help compare training for you and your team

Request a free quote

Request a free training quote