Certified Safety and Health Manager (CSHM)

Certified Safety and Health Manager (CSHM)Certified Safety and Health Manager (CSHM)

The Certified Safety and Health Manager (CSHM) certification is offered through the Institute for Safety and Health Management (ISHM), an industry-recognized certification body for health, safety, and environmental (HSE) professionals. The CSHM certification was developed by HSE managers and is suited for HSE managers and professionals of all disciplines and backgrounds. Further, the CSHM certification is regarded as the premier level HSE management certification available for HSE professionals. The CSHM credential is ideal for professionals in search and rescue, manufacturing, construction, healthcare, engineering, education, and other HSE management professionals.

Professionals who have successfully earned the CSHM certification can demonstrate their aptitude in HSE management to their current or potential employers and meet employer requirements for career advancement. Further, the CSHM credential proves a well-rounded knowledge of safety related issues, including hazard analysis, accident investigation, safety audits, workers comp, product safety, environmental laws, and labor relations. The CSHM credential is additionally accredited through the Council on Engineering and Scientific Specialty Boards (CESB).

Am I Eligible to Become a CSHM?

The CSHM certification has been developed to recognize an HSE professional's advanced knowledge and skills in safety and business management. Consider becoming a CSHM if you are an experienced safety manager or professional and would like to solidify your skills, distinguish yourself from others in your profession or at your organization, pursue a new or higher position within the HSE management sector, and increase your earning potential.

To sit for the Certified Safety and Health Manager (CSHM) exam, you must meet the following requirements:

ABET / Board Approved Programs – Safety Field
Education Level Safety Experience
Doctorate 2 years
Master 2 years
Bachelor 2 years
Associate 5 years
Safety-Related Field
Education Level Safety Experience
Doctorate 2 years
Master 3 years
Bachelor 4 years
Associate 6 years
Any Field
Education Level Safety Experience
Doctorate 4 years
Master 4 years
Bachelor 5 years
Associate ASHM + 2 years
Holder of a Certification, Designation or Certificate
Education Level Safety Experience
CSHM, CSP, CIH, CHMM, CRSP, CPEA or CPSA Eligible to Sit for the CSHM Exam
ASHM 2 years
GSP or ASP 3 years
CHST, OHST, or CLCS ASHM + 2 years
CAIH ASHM + 2 years
CSS ASHM + 2 years
Safety Certificate recognized by ISHM ASHM + 2 years


Once you have determined your eligibility for the CSHM exam, it may be time to prepare. The breakdown of the CSHM exam is as follows:

  • General and business management (20%)
  • Management methods and systems (38%)
  • Safety, Health, Environmental Applications (11%)
  • Risk identifications, management and control (31%)

If you would like to to enhance your health and safety skills in these areas and successfully prepare for the CSHM exam, browse the list of health and safety training courses on FindCourses.com!

Retaining the CSHM Certification

Upon successful completion and passing of the CSHM exam, all professionals must remain active to keep their certification. CSHMs must complete 30 COC (Continuance of Certification) points every 5 years to maintain their certification. CSHMs must provide written evidence of these COC points by submitting a COC worksheet or successfully passing the CSHM exam.