Construction Health and Safety Technician (CHST)

Construction Health and Safety Technician (CHST)

The Construction Health and Safety Technician (CHST) credential is a professional designation accredited by the Board of Certified Safety Professionals (BCSP). The CHST credential provides a certification for those professionals working in a construction craft or are construction safety specialists. The CHST has been designed for these professionals to prove their knowledge and skills and work either full-time or part-time in health and safety activities devoted to the prevention of construction illnesses and injuries. Further, this CHST certification meets the national standards for certifications.

Am I Eligible to Become a CHST?

All CHST candidates must meet certain educational and experiential requirements before sitting for the CHST exam. Browse the following requirements to ensure your eligibility for this BCSP-approved credential.

Education Background

Applicants must meet one of the following educational requirements to sit for the CHST exam:

  • High school diploma
  • GED

Professional Experience

In order to sit for the CHST exam, all candidates must have 3 years of prior professional health or safety experience within the construction industry.

What Are the Next Steps?

Review the areas of eligibility above and ensure that you have met all prerequisites for the CHST exam. If you do not meet all of these requirements you can either continue your studies and experience to work up to the CHST requirements or you can look at one of the other health and safety certifications that the Board of Certified Safety Professionals (BCSP) has to offer.

If you meet the requirements, you are eligible to apply and sit for the CHST certification exam. Many potential CHSTs enroll in training courses to better prepare them for their upcoming CHST exam. If you are interested in preparing for the CHST exam through a training course, browse health and safety training  or construction courses!

Retaining the CHST Certification

Upon successful completion and passing of the CHST exam, all professionals must remain active to keep their designation. In order to remain eligible and up to date in their certification, CHST professionals must pay an annual renewal fee and earn 20 recertification points every 5 years. These points can be earned by fulfilling activites outlined by BCSP's recertification guide.